A simple prayer

When I pray, God does not answer me through the burning bush as he did the real prophets of the bible. I hear Him in the quite certainty in my heart that a particular course of action is the right one. 

When I pray for guidance, I find the 11th step, from the 12 step programs, voices my need better than all the long-winded or flowery prayers. 

“Sought through prayer and meditation to improve our conscious contact with God as we understood Him, praying only for knowledge of His will for us and the power to carry that out.” 

My simple prayer is “God, show me what you want me to do and I will do that”. 

Followed by “Please make it obvious so even I can see your will for me.”

One thought on “A simple prayer

  1. Good thoughts to ponder. Here’s a Bible verse that fits this theme: “May our Lord Jesus Christ himself and God our Father who loved us and by His grace gave us eternal encouragement and good hope encourage your hearts and strengthen you in every good deed and word.” 2 Thessalonians 2:16-17. We all have room to learn and grow.

Leave a Reply

