Corinthians 2:4 and 5

Some of you may have noticed that I have not met my commitment to publish a new piece every Tuesday. I have been suffering from writers block or at least from a lack of spiritual inspiration.  

My morning reading this morning included the following: 

4: And my speech and my preaching was not with enticing words of man’s wisdom but in demonstration of the Spirit and power: 

5: That your faith should not stand in the wisdom of men but in the power of God. 

In my writing I have tried to listen for what God wants me to say and not rely on my own very limited understanding of what the bible passages mean. For the last several weeks, I have not found what I needed to be sure that I was listening to God’s direction and not relying on my own thinking. 

John (John 5:19) says that “The Son can do nothing of himself, but what he seeth the Father do:”.

If it’s true that even Jesus can do nothing except what God shows him and gives him the power to do than it’s even more true for each of us that if we truly listen, we can hear God’s direction personally and immediately. We can know the right thing to say or do and have the strength to actually do it. 

Does this mean that I have lost my connection to God that inspired my previous writings? Absolutely not! 

It does remind me that I am just a man attempting to listen to and fulfill God’s plan for me and that I will suffer from the human condition. A big part of that condition is getting so wrapped up in my daily life that I lose sight of my real nature as a child of God and in forgetting that connection I lose my inspiration. 

It’s not lost forever, just until I remember that my connection to God is the most important thing and forget about all the daily nonsense that distracts me. 

Many of the things we do each day are urgent, like paying the bills, but are not important in the same way that our connection to God is critical to our spiritual wellbeing. 

Never let the important be missed in our attempt to do the merely urgent!

One thought on “Corinthians 2:4 and 5

  1. Your last sentence deserves framing and hanging on the wall! “Never let the important be missed in our atempt to do the merely urgent.” We do need the LORD’s priorities. Your commitment to write to share your faith is admirable. Let Him show you the time and the method. Like that old song, “Trust and Obey.”

Leave a Reply

