Romans 9:26

Likewise the Spirit also helpeth our infirmities: for we know not what we should pray for as we ought: but the Spirit itself maketh intercession for us with groanings which cannot be uttered.

I prefer the King James Version of the Bible. It is what I grew up with and not only am I used to the archaic wording I find poetry in that odd rhythm when read aloud. It does make understanding some of the passage a challenge at times, but that also makes me think about what I am reading and what it really means to me.

As part of my study I am reading the Bible from a list that was put together by my church and which we then discuss at our Wednesday evening home group. In reading these preselected passages I regularly find that those passages either apply to my current life situation or make me stop and think about something I have not questioned in the past.

Romans 9:26 is one of those passages that made me think about prayer and asking God to solve some problem in my life.

As a child I was told not to pray for “things” but rather to pray for the solution to the problem. One example of how this works happened when I was about 11 years old or so. I wanted a bicycle. My own bicycle not a “GIRLS” bike handed down from my sister who was 6 year older!

My mother told me to pray not for a bicycle but for right transportation since my plan, in all probability, would not be nearly as good as God’s plan. If I limited my prayer for what my limited imagination could conceive then some unknown blessing of God’s might be missed.

Right or wrong, that has been my method of prayer ever since; don’t pray for my car to be fixed or pray for it to be replaced, rather pray for guidance in how I am to handle transportation. Every time I have limited my prayer I have gotten that limited answer, but every time I have asked for guidance to a solution God has given me a much better answer than I would have imagined.

For this reason the highlighted section of Romans 9:26 really stuck home for me.

“for we know not what we should pray for as we ought: but the Spirit itself maketh intercession for us”.

This simple passage supports what my mother taught me as a child – don’t pray for a bicycle, pray for right transportation and see what God leads you to. She didn’t expect God to drop a moped on the front porch, but he might just lead me to a job cutting someone’s grass and payment might be a used moped. Much more than I would have thought possible.

In this case a family friend offered me a used bicycle that their son, who was just starting college, did not want any more. I had to use money saved from birthdays, allowance, and odd jobs to put new tires on it to get it back on the road, but it was a BOY’S bike and as nice as all my friends.

Would I rather have had a moped (which in the late 1950s I could have legally driven)? Heck yes, but just being able to be with my friends was enough. I have used this method of prayer ever since and I never ceased to be amazed by the ingenious methods God uses to supply me.

I don’t know what God’s plan is for me but I do know that His plan will turn out to be so much better than I can imagine right now and that I will be amazed. When will God show me? Once again I can’t predict when God will show me the solution but I can wait secure in the knowledge that as long as I listen and take the next step as he presents it, I will end up where He want’s me with all the blessings He has already prepared for me and has waiting for me.

One thought on “Romans 9:26

  1. Lots of good thoughts on your site. The LORD is blessing you and you are being faithful to share His Word with others. I’ve signed up for your RSS so your list comes up in NetNewsWire and I can see daily when there’s a new posting.

Leave a Reply

