Revelations 21:4

4 And God shall wipe away all tears from their eyes; and he will dwell with them and they shall be his people and God himself shall be with then and be their God.

Our church has a set of morning readings that many of us use and then discuss at home groups. Since we are at the end of this series we are reading selected passages from The Revelation of St. John the Divine and this quote was part of this mornings readings.

I have always limited my appreciation of Revelation to the end of times and not considered that it might have a greater meaning. Perhaps as we grow with God and give more of our lives to Him we experience elements of the descriptions of Revelations inside ourselves.

In the disaster that my life has become I was humbled enough to not just pray for God’s guidance and help but to actually beg, “I can’t do this, carry me”. Within a few minutes I could feel that my deep depression had been lifted and while I still experience a normal sense of sadness from time to time, that overwhelming depression has been completely lifted.

Revelations 12:4 has come to have a broader meaning to me. It is no longer limited to the end of times but rather symbolizes a personal spiritual end of times where I have let go of some of the worldly anchors that kept me from a closer connection with God. Sometimes I get so bound up in the day-to-day effort of living that I lose sight of God’s guiding hand and I begin to think; “I’m doing all this”.

Giving up my false belief that I am in control and accepting that only God is powerful enough to control my life opens me up to the new life described in Revelation where God wipes away all my tears and dwells with me and I can experience his love and peace in an immediate and person way that pretending I am in control blocks.

As I began to understand that this applies to me right now today and not in some far off future I felt the things that were troubling me lose their power to disturb my confidence in God and his working in my life. I still have to do the footwork, but God has a plan and all I have to do is listen and take the next step as he shows it to me.

Leave a Reply

