Yet, not what I will, but what you will

Mark 14:36

 

“Abba, Father,” he said, “everything is possible for you. Take this cup from me. Yet not what I will, but what you will.”

For me this is the hardest thing to accept, that what I want is not always what God wants for me. Accepting that, in my prayers, sometimes the answer is (and for what is best for me should be) a resounding NO leaves me floundering to understand what I should do next.

Many years ago I was struggling with my job and was praying for a new job / career and my prayer was “God put me where you want me and if I’m already there (where You want me) make me content”. My belief then and now is that while I may not always be happy with God’s choices for me, if they are indeed from God, I should feel his peace and contentment.

For me God’s voice is rarely in the burning bush but rather in that still small voice inside and in the contentment that He gives me when I am following His plan.

In navigating the current chaos in my life I use this bible verse often and try to meditate on the “Yet, not what I will, but what you will” to keep my mind clear to listen for His direction. Too many times I have been so aggressive in fighting for what I think I want that I have completely missed God’s blessing that was delivered from a totally unexpected direction.

Leave a Reply

